2019 Award Recipients

AACE Outstanding Clinical Endocrinologist Award

Ian Hay, MB, PhD, FRCP

Professor Hay was born and raised in Ayrshire, Scotland. He attended Glasgow University where he graduated with BSc, MB ChB, and PhD degrees within the Faculty of Medicine in 1971, 1973 and 1978. He was selected in Glasgow to serve in the Professorial Surgical and Medical Units for his Junior House Officer positions. His interest in endocrinology was kindled by his BSc thesis work in adrenocortical pathology with Prof Sir Tom Symington during 1969-71.

AACE H. Jack Baskin, MD, Endocrine Teaching Award

Daniel S. Duick, MD, FACP, MACE, ECNU

Daniel S. Duick, MD, FACP, MACE, ECNU joined the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) in 1995, served as a board member beginning in 1997, served on numerous committees, and was elected president of AACE in 2008-2009.   

AACE Outstanding Service Award for the Promotion of Endocrine Health of an Underserved Population

Jatinder Kumar Mokta, MD, FACP, FRCP

Dr. Mokta was born and raised in a rural village of the Shimla district of Himachal Pradesh and studied in a rural school to pursue his goal of becoming a devoted medical professional to serve the ailing. He successfully completed his graduation and post-graduation in medical science and specialized in internal medicine. Presently he is Professor of Internal Medicine in the premier Medical College of the State, Indira Gandhi Medical College, Shimla.

AACE Outstanding Corporate Partner Award

Abbott Diabetes Care

As a global leader in diabetes care, Abbott is constantly working to deliver the highest quality products and unwavering support to our customers. Consistent and accurate glucose monitoring is the foundation of any diabetes management plan, so we’re committed to continuous improvement in the way patients and professionals measure, track and analyze glucose levels.

ACE Distinction in Endocrinology Award

Felicia Cosman, MD

Dr. Felicia Cosman is a clinical scientist, osteoporosis specialist and Professor of Medicine at Columbia University.  She received her undergraduate degree from Cornell and medical degree from Stony Brook, followed by an internship, residency and endocrinology fellowship at Columbia.

ACE International Endocrinology Award

George J. Kahaly, MD, PhD

George J Kahaly, M.D., Ph.D. holds the rank of Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology / Metabolism and is chief physician of the endocrine outpatient clinic at the Johannes Gutenberg University (JGU) Medical Center, Mainz, Germany. Dr. Kahaly chairs the ORPHAN referral expert center for Graves’ orbitopathy and autoimmune polyendocrinopathy. Dr.

ACE Master of the American College of Endocrinology (MACE)

Jeffrey I. Mechanick, MD, FACP, FACN, FAACE, ECNU and Dace L. Trence, MD, FACE

Dr. Mechanick is Professor of Medicine and Medical Director of The Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Center for Clinical Cardiovascular Health at Mount Sinai Heart, and in the Cardiovascular Institute and Division of Cardiology, and Director of Metabolic Support in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Bone Disease, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. He received his M.D.

ACE Yank D. Coble, Jr., MD, Distinguished Service Award

R. Mack Harrell, MD, FACP, FACE, ECNU; Co-Director of the Memorial Center for Integrative Endocrine Surgery Memorial Health System, Boca Raton

Dr. R. Mack Harrell has built the last 27 years of his life around sound. In 1992, he became the first endocrinologist in the Cleveland Clinic system to bring neck ultrasound technology into the endocrine office setting. In 2011, he and his surgical partner, Dr.

ACE Philanthropy Award

Novo Nordisk

At Novo Nordisk, we are driving change to defeat diabetes and other serious chronic conditions.

Novo Nordisk is a global healthcare company with 95 years of innovation and leadership in diabetes care. This heritage has given us experience and capabilities that also enable us to help people defeat other serious chronic conditions: rare bleeding disorders, growth hormone related disorders and obesity.

AACE Frontiers in Science Award

Shlomo Melmed, MB, ChB, FRCP, MACP

As Dean, Executive VP and Professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, Dr. Melmed has coupled his institutional leadership in building renowned academic programs with a sustained Impact on the practice of pituitary medicine by his endocrine leadership, educational initiatives and major translational discoveries in pathophysiology and therapy of pituitary disease.  

AACE International Clinician Award

Yulino Castillo Núñez, MD

Dr. Castillo graduated Magna Cum Laude from the Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Intec), Dominican Republic, in 1986.